There are limits to how much marijuana you can buy, unlike most other commodities. The restrictions were put in place to prevent cannabis goods from being diverted to the black market. They do, however, cause buyers to be perplexed and frustrated.
To add to the complication, each state has its own set of rules – some apply per transaction, others daily, weekly, or monthly.
We’ll go through what purchase limitations for the online dispensary Canada are, how they differ from possession limits, and look at a few state-by-state comparisons of marijuana limits in this quick hit post.
What are the buying restrictions at dispensaries?
The maximum amount of cannabis goods that a consumer can acquire from a marijuana dispensary is known as dispensary purchasing limitations.
Recreational marijuana users, certified patients under the state’s medicinal marijuana program, and qualified caregivers are all examples of marijuana users.
The following factors frequently influence purchase limits:
Medical marijuana patients vs. adult-use clients are two different types of customers.
For instance, consider the product category of flower vs. concentration.
Daily, weekly, monthly, etc.
What are the restrictions on cannabis possession?
The maximum amount of cannabis products that a customer can have in their possession is called a possession limit.
Patients and clients are allowed to have up to the state-specified amount of marijuana items in their possession. Fines and penalties apply if you have more than the maximum quantity.
The majority of state cannabis laws differentiate between purchase and possession restrictions, however many states have the same restrictions.
What is the maximum amount of marijuana I may purchase?
The amount of marijuana you can buy is determined by which legal market you’re in and whether you’re buying it for medical or recreational purposes.
Note that while the majority of marijuana regulations are written in ounces, some also mention grams. 1 ounce of flower equals 28 grams.
2.5 ounces every 14 days in Arizona
Every 14 days, consume 1 ounce of flower or 5 grams of marijuana concentrate.
California: Medical marijuana: 8 ounces per day; recreational marijuana: 1 ounce of cannabis and up to 8 grams of concentrate each day
Colorado: \sMed – 2 oz. marijuana flower each day (OR 40 grams of concentrate OR 20,000 milligrams of edibles)
1 ounce of cannabis flower per day is recommended (OR 8 grams of concentrate OR 800 mg of edibles)
10 ounces every two months in Massachusetts (or a rolling 60-day schedule)
1 ounce of flower OR up to 5 grams of cannabis concentrates per visit is allowed.
MEDIUM – 2.5 OUNCES PER DAY IN MICHIGAN
2.5 ounces of marijuana each day for recreational use, with no more than 15 grams in the form of concentrates
Nevada: 2.5 ounces every two weeks (medium).
1 ounce per day (equal to 18 ounces of concentrate) is recommended.
3 ounces of marijuana flower per transaction in Oklahoma.
What happens if you sell too much marijuana?
Purchase limits are in place to protect the legal cannabis sector. They are intended to restrict the amount of cannabis items that a single person can purchase and possess.
However, they present a unique problem not found in other businesses.
Cannabis stores need to know who’s shopping and what they’re buying to make sure they’re not buying more than they’re allowed. Strong SOPs can assist in teaching your employees to be on the lookout for anything unusual or suspicious.
Customers who purchase (and possess) cannabis in excess of legal limits face fines and penalties, as do dispensaries who oversell to them.
What methods are used to keep track of purchase limits?
Purchase limitations are tracked by states using dispensary point-of-sale software.
Flowhub features a built-in cannabis counter that reflects the rules and equivalencies of each state. Budtenders may keep track of a customer’s or patient’s purchase limit by keeping an eye on this simple counter at the top of the check-out screen. Customers are never oversold in this way.